Once you've created an extension for your assignment the extension will be nested within their "parent" assignment, to avoid overcrowding the Assignments page. Here's what you will see when you open an assignment with existing extension(s).
- To the left of the app you'll notice a menu populated with existing extensions and a New extension button at the bottom.
- You'll also notice the Main cohort tab which will allow you to see all students included in the original group.
- If you hover over the name of your extension, you will see a three dot symbol which will allow you to Edit or Delete it.
- To uncover or hide an extension from students, click on the eye symbol to the right.
Once you click through to the editing modal of an extension, you'll be able to adjust its name, participants, description, open- and due-dates as well as the grades release date.
Each student can only have 1 submission in each assignment – i.e. they can't be included in the main cohort as well as in the extension of the same assignment. If you export grades to a csv file for a particular assignment, grades for all students will be automatically combined in the same column, regardless of which cohort they submitted their work in.
If an educator removes a student's graded submission from the first cohort to include the same student in an extension, their original grade will also be removed.
If you have any follow-up questions on how grading works with extensions, feel free to get in touch with us via firstname.lastname@example.org.
Students can only see visible extensions which they, in particular, have been added to. We won't show them extensions which are not relevant to them specifically. For students, names of extensions are visible on the Assignments page.